The Nation Remembers…September 11


wtc
Image via Wikipedia

Where were you on Sept. 11, 2001? I know where I was. I had just woken up it was a little after 9am. My brother, who is now deceased, came into my room and without saying a word, turned on my TV and, I was shocked to see the World Trade Center in New York smoking like two chimneys.  At first, I couldn’t imagine what happened. Then my brother told me someone intentionally flew  two passenger jets, one each into the towers. I was like, ” there must have been an accident”. He said, “No that’s what they thought after the first plane hit and then the second one came in aiming straight for the second tower.  This was done on purpose. I don’t know who we are going to war with but, we are going to war with somebody”.  That is when I really begin to realize what was going on. I remember while the events where being discussed on the Today Show on NBC, I could see tower two collapse on the monitor in the background. At first, I couldn’t believe what I was seeing. How could a 110 story building just collapse? I thought thousands must have been killed. It felt strange knowing I was watching thousands of people die live on TV. I immediately thought they better hurry up and get out of tower one before that goes down too. And sure enough, around 10:28am, tower one collapsed. Again I thought thousands of people just died. HELL YEAH we’re  going to war alright. I’m glad I wasn’t president. I would have been tempted to use nuclear weapons on whoever did this to us. To this day, I still feel the same feelings I felt on that awful day. Here it is ten years later and, I along with the rest of the nation still morn and remember those innocents who lost their lives and the heroes who lost their lives trying to save them. To all first responders from the bottom of my heart, Thank you. To all my soldiers serving in the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, thank you for your service. Your efforts do not go unappreciated.

Here are some photos of todays ceremonies I found on the internet. They come from www.msnbc.com  www.cnn.com  and www.huffingtonpost.com

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

